The Copperhead Fire Tower was constructed in 1924 by the State of Ohio and was the first of thirty-nine fire towers erected in Ohio's forests. The 60-foot tower, atop the 1200-foot Copperhead Hill was once manned by park rangers who would be on the lookout for wildfire to help preserve Shawnee Forest.
The use of aircraft began in the 1940's and the fire towers were slowly phased out. The last active fire tower in Ohio, the Atkinson Ridge Tower, near McArthur, was closed in 1978.
Recently restored, visitors can climb to the top of the tower at their own risk. From the top of the tower, Copperhead Fire Tower provides a magnificent 360-degree view of the surrounding forests and hills.